The Scientific Board is a self-governing body of the university established in accordance with the Higher Education Act No. 111/1998 Coll. and the Statute of Silesian University in Opava.

The Chairman of the Board is the rector who appoints and dismisses its other members.

The members of the scientific board are significant representatives of the fields in which the university carries out its educational and creative activities. At least one third of the partakers of the board are not members of the university’s academic community.

The Scientific Board discusses the Long-term project of educational, scientific, research, development and innovation, artistic and other creative activities; Report on the internal evaluation of the quality of the educational, creative and other activities and its amendments; the Annual Reports as well as the draft of the rules for the quality assurance system of educational, creative and related activities submitted by the rector; the intention to appoint or dismissed the members of the Internal Evaluation Board.

It approves the Application for Institutional Accreditation or the proposal to renounce the Institutional Accreditation, cancel the study programme, or renounce the Accreditation for habilitation and professorship procedures. The Board exercises jurisdiction in the procedure for the appointment of a professor and in the habilitation procedure to the extent stipulated by Act No. 111/1998 Coll., on universities.


Doc. Mgr. Tomáš Gongol, Ph.D. - Chairman

Internal Members

  •      .   prof. PhDr. Vladimír Birgus
  • prof. RNDr. Miroslav Engliš, DrSc.
  • Prof. PhDr. Jiří Knapík, Ph.D.
  • prof. PhDr. Irena Korbelářová, Dr.
  • Doc. RNDr. Jiří Kovář, Ph.D.
  • Doc. Ing. Iveta Palečková, Ph.D.
  • Prof. RNDr. Artur Sergyeyev, Ph.D., DrSc.
  • doc. Ing. Petr Sosík, Dr.
  • prof. Ing. Daniel Stavárek, Ph.D.
  • prof. RNDr. Zdeněk Stuchlík, CSc.
  • Doc. RNDr. Ing. Roman Šperka, Ph.D.
  • doc. RNDr.  Gabriel Török,  Ph.D.
  • doc. Ing. Pavel Tuleja, Ph.D.
  • doc. PhDr. Yvetty Vrublová, Ph.D.
  • doc. PhDr. Michaela Weiss, Ph.D.
  • prof. PhDr. Rudolf Žáček, Dr.

External Members

  • prof. MUDr. Václav Báča, Ph.D.
  • prof. RNDr. Jiří Bičák, DrSc.
  • prof. RNDr. Zuzana Došlá, DSc. 
  • prof. PhDr. Jana Geršlová, CSc.
  • doc. MgA. Jan Jindra
  • prof. RNDr. Vladimír Karas, DrSc.
  • doc. MUDr. Rastislav Maďar, PhD., MBA, FRCPS.
  • prof. Ing. Hana Mohelská, Ph.D.
  • prof. RNDr. Vladimír Müller, DrSc.
  • prof. PaedDr. Štefan Šutaj, DrSc.
  • prof. Ing. David Tuček, Ph.D.