The Board of Trustees was established in accordance with the Higher Education Act No. 111/1998 Coll. and the Statute of the Silesian University in Opava.

The Board of Trustees approves the annual budget together with the mid-term budget plan of the university; the Long-term project of educational, scientific, research, development and innovation, artistic and other creative activities. It discusses the Annual Reports, Report on internal evaluation of the quality of the educational, creative and other activities and its amendments. It also issues its consent with legal proceedings regarding the property management and participation of the university in other legal entities.


  • Ing. David Sventek, MBA - Chairman of the Board of Trustees
  • Mgr. Petra Ballová - 1st Vice-Chairwoman
  • Ing. Petr Koudela - 2nd Vice-Chairman
  • prof. Ing. Jiří Drahoš, DrSc., dr. h.c.
  • Mgr. Zlata Holušová
  • Ing. Zdeněk Jiříček
  • Ing. Václav Klučka
  • Lenka Krótká
  • Ing. David Lamich, Ph.D.
  • Ing. Tomáš Navrátil
  • Mgr. Herbert Pavera
  • Ing. Jakub Unucka, MBA, Ph.D.
  • MUDr. Ladislav Václavec, MBA
  • Ing. Jan Wolf