The Academic Senate is, from the point of view of Higher Education Act No. 111/1998 Coll (§ 7 of the Act), the highest authority of the university. From this position, it has executive and decision-making power. The legal status of the senate is regulated by § 8 and § 9 of the Act and the Statute of Silesian University in Opava.


The Senate of the Silesian University has 25 members and consists of the House of Employees and the House of Students. Each faculty is represented by 7 members (4 academics and 3 students) and each institute by 2 members (1 academic and 1 student). The members of the Senate are elected by members of the academic community for a period of 3 years.


The Academic Senate proposes and changes the Study and Examination Regulations of the university. It has the authority to decide on economic issues and the structure of the university. Furthermore, the authority elects a candidate for the rector of the university and proposes him to the president of the Czechia for appointment. The Academic Senate approves many self-governing activities of the university. At the rector's proposal, the senate approves the members of the university management, scientific council and other bodies, and it also approves annual reports of the university and other documents.



Ing. Lucie Kamrádová, Ph.D. - Chairwoman of the Academic Senate

PhDr. Diana Adamová, Ph.D. – Secretary of the Academic Senate

Ing. Irena Szarowská, Ph.D., MPA – Vice-Chairwoman of the Academic Senate

Bc. Matěj Fiala – Vice-chairman of the Academic Senate

House of Employees of the Academic Senate

The Faculty of Philosophy and Science  

  • PhDr. Diana Adamová, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Kamil Matula, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. David Radek, Ph.D.
  • PhDr. Petr Vojtal

The School of Business Administration

  • Ing. Petra Chmielová, Ph.D.
  • Ing. Ivana Koštuříková, Ph.D.
  • Ing. Michal Stoklasa, Ph.D.
  • Ing. Irena Szarowská, Ph.D., MPA

The Faculty of Public Policies

  • Ing. Lucie Kamrádová, Ph.D.
  • PhDr. Vladimíra Kocourková, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Markéta Skalná, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Lukáš Vomlela Ph.D.

The Mathematical Institute

  • RNDr. Vladimír Sedlář, CSc.

The Institute of Physics

  • Mgr. Martin Urbanec, Ph.D.


House of Students of the Academic Senate


The Faculty of Philosophy and Science 

  • Bc. Michaela Pecinová
  • Danny Pohlodko
  • Aneta Střížová, DiS.

The School of Business Administration

  • Bc. Matěj Fiala
  • Ing. Karla Foltisová
  • Bc. Sabina Půčková


The Faculty of Public Policies

  • Viktorie Blahutová
  • Alžběta Kotrlová
  • Tereza Velčovská


The Mathematical Institutute

  • Gabriela Baranová

The Institute of Physics

  • Tomáš Stanovský